The Plus side to Teen Soaps (Or, why there is only one Tree Hill)

Okay I admit it, I like chick flicks. I know they’re girly and I know they’re probably the lowest form a movie could take, but I love them. I do. With all my heart. Not because of that First Kiss or because of how “wonderful” her “journey to love” was. No, I love them for the way they begin and the way they end. It’s almost always with a quote. And I love them.

Which is why I actually love One Tree Hill. Yes it’s a soap. Yes there is unnecessary drama (the whole Lucas and Peyton, and then Lucas and Brooke, and then Lucas and Brooke and Peyton, gets tiring pretty fast) Yes it can be over the top—what with killer nannies and an evil man becoming mayor simply because of one good speech and him then killing his own brother out of jealousy (Cain and Abel, anyone?)

But the thing is when these characters are not too busy marrying at sixteen or escaping from weird stalkers who claim to be your long lost brother or pushing each other into puddles or hiding in the library from the school shooter, they say some pretty awesome stuff. It also doesn’t hurt that Peyton has the most awesome music collection ever (her favorite album is My Aim is True too!!)

Oh and yeah, aren’t Haley and Lucas the most adorable best friends ever? Oh and Naley…(sigh)

I was thinking about the finality of it all – how somebody can leave your world in the blink of an eye and be gone forever. It’s too enormous to think about. It’s too hard. And then you’re just supposed to go on, right, like just deal with it, I mean really you’re only supposed to be sad for as long as the flowers last and then, oh, time to go back to telling jokes and reminiscing about the old days—Haley

There are moments in our lives when we find ourselves at a crossroad, afraid, confused, without a roadmap. The choices we make in those moments can define the rest of our days. Of course when faced with the unknown, most of us prefer to turn around and go back.–Lucas 

sometimes, they just say the most wonderful of things in the simplest way possible

One of my favorite ones:

I want to draw something that means something to someone. You know, I want to draw blind faith or a fading summer or just a moment of clarity. It’s like when you go and you see a really great band live for the first time, you know, and nobody’s saying it but everybody’s thinking it: “We have something to believe in again.” I want to draw that feeling. But I can’t. And if I can’t be great at it then I don’t want to ruin it. It’s too important to me –Peyton

This couple 🙂

Nathan summed up my fears pretty neat:

At this moment there are 6,470,818,671 people in the world. Some are running scared. Some are coming home. Some tell lies to make it through the day. Others are just now facing the truth. Some are evil men, at war with good. And some are good, struggling with evil. Six billion people in the world. Six billion souls. And sometimes — all you need is one—Peyton

Make a wish and place it in your heart. Anything you want, everything you want. Do you have it? Good. Now believe it can come true. You never know where the next miracle is gonna come from, the next smile, the next wish come true. But if you believe that its right around the corner, and you open your heart and mind to the possibility of it, to the certainty of it, you just might get the thing you’re wishing for. The world is full of magic. You just have to believe in it. So, make your wish. Do you have it? Good. Now, believe in it with all you heart… –The entire OTH cast

And of course, how can anyone not miss this eloquence:

struggling with a soup can tends to bring out the poet in many…

Oh Jamie…need I say more?

I’m sticking with the shoelaces. The hearts say I like you, but the shoelace part isn’t too mushy–Jamie

It’s a magical place, son. I’ve seen that magic in your eyes for the past nine years. There’s only one Tree Hill, Jamie Scott. And it’s your home. –Haley

Plus it’s kind of amazing when Lucas quotes John Steinbeck or Albert Camus. The voice overs in the beginning and end of each episode (all of which are named after wonderful, classic songs, by the way) never fail to inspire me and after every OTH episode, I tend to lock myself in my room and write or draw or listen to some other new artist Peyton introduced me to

There is only one Tree Hill and it helps me through some pretty dark times…

 

2 thoughts on “The Plus side to Teen Soaps (Or, why there is only one Tree Hill)

  1. Man, I love One Tree Hill. I watched every single episode of every season. One of the reasons I’ve always loved it was because of the quotes, too. Specially the first season, when Lucas used to end every episode with an author’s quote. It always felt bittersweet to me.

    Like

Everybody is entitled to an opinion...

