A Huff. A puff.

I guarded it with my childhood;

protected it from all those times which were rough

But the Big Bad World came along

and said: I’ll huff! And I’ll puff!

 

And so i gathered some straw

And i built all the walls.

But the Big Bad World came along

and baring its pointy teeth,

said: I’ll huff! And I’ll puff!

 

And he huffed. And he puffed,

and the walls were torn down.

He huffed and he puffed

And it almost went out.

 

But i gathered some wood,

and spent many a day building a fort.

But the Big Bad World came along

His dank breath curling around

And said:”I’ll huff! And I’ll puff!”

 

And he huffed. Oh, how he puffed!

And it all came crumbling down

A huff. And a puff.

And once again, it almost went out.

 

But i got bricks; i got cement

And spent many a night boxing myself in;

I lay awake at night and built all the walls again.

But the Big Bad World came by

and said: “I’ll huff and I’ll puff!”

 

And so he huffed. And then he puffed

And he blew my house in

I gave up then

and let the roof come crashing down

 

A huff. A puff.

And this time it went out.

and it suddenly got dark, inside and out

And the Big Bad World laughed:

“Well, whatever happened to ‘not by the hair of my chinny chin chin’?”

For he had finally did it: snuffed out the light within.

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “A Huff. A puff.

  1. I love rummaging through your blog when I feel low 😀
    By the way, do you mind if i use some of your poems as caption fodder for the social media profile of a backpacker hostel in Rishikesh (I’m sorta interning there)? with your blog’s link to go with them of course.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Simraaaan
    you write so well ! I’ve not come across SUCH a nice blog in a very long time .
    Plus there’s this tad but of envy that you’re my age and you write so much better but um …yeah… I’m mostly inspired to see such a great blog . it’s really nice .

    Liked by 1 person

Everybody is entitled to an opinion...

